Wolfgang Paul Study Awards

Wolfgang-Paul-Studienpreise 2025 of the German Mass Spectrometry Society (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Massenspektrometrie, DGMS)

fully supported by Bruker Daltonics GmbH & Co. KG

Each year, the German Mass Spectrometry Society (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Massenspektrometrie, DGMS) presents the Wolfgang-Paul-Studienpreis for those Master’s and Ph.D. theses that have made an original and outstanding contribution to the field of mass spectrometry.

The award was established by DGMS in 1997 and is fully sponsored by Bruker Daltonics GmbH & Co. KG. The prize is endowed with the total sum of € 7,500. The amount may be shared between award recipients. The award takes the name of one of Germany’s pioneers in ion physics, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Paul. He received the Nobel Prize in Physics 1989 for his development of a method for using electrical currents and electromagnetic fields to capture charged atoms – ions – in a trap”. He served as long-time president of the Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung. The award is presented at the annual conferences of DGMS by a scientific selection committee currently chaired by Dr. Michael Mormann, University of Münster.

Next awards ceremony will be held at the 56th Annual Conference of the DGMS in Göttingen, March 04-07, 2025. Award recipients are asked to present their results as either a short oral presentation (Ph.D. awards) or as a poster (M.Sc. awards).

Applicants for the 2025 awards must have completed a Ph.D. or an M.Sc. at a German university or university of applied sciences. German citizens graduated from a foreign university may also apply. The thesis must have been examined and should have been officially conferred between Nov. 1, 2023 and Oct. 31, 2024.

We encourage the submission of superior and outstanding theses from all areas of research employing mass spectrometry as a pivotal technique. Submissions will be reviewed with special focus on the significance of the research contribution and potential impact on the field of mass spectrometry.

Submissions for the awards presented in 2024 should be made to the chairperson of the jury by Nov. 1, 2024. Please follow the instructions provided here.

Dr. Michael Mormann
Universität Münster
Institut für Hygiene
Biomedizinische Massenspektrometrie
Robert-Koch-Str. 41
D-48149 Münster
E-Mail: mmormann@uni-muenster.de