Mattauch-Herzog Award

Mattauch-Herzog Award for Mass Spectrometry 2024 of the German Mass Spectrometry Society (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Massenspektrometrie, DGMS)

Endowed by Thermo Fisher Scientific

The German Mass Spectrometry Society (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Massenspektrometrie, DGMS) presents the Mattauch-Herzog Award endowed by Thermo Fisher Scientific. Established in 1988 it is considered as one of the most prestigious scientific award in analytical sciences. Scientists in mass spectrometry are honoured by the award under the patronage of DGMS recognizing significant achievements made in the early stages of their career.

The Mattauch-Herzog Award takes the name of two pioneers in mass spectrometry, Josef Mattauch and Richard Herzog who developed fundamental aspects of mass spectroscopic ion optics and, in 1934, presented a novel type of mass spectrometer equipped with ion optics which became known world-wide as the “Mattauch-Herzog-System”.

The Mattauch-Herzog Award recognizes a significant achievement in one of the two major fields of modern mass spectrometry, viz. organic/biochemical analytical science or element and isotope analyses. In the context of these two wide areas of applications there is no limit to the subject of research, as long as it constitutes an important and pioneering novel application of mass spectrometry or an outstanding advance in methodology and instrumentation.

The award, in the amount of 12.500 €, together with a certificate commemorating the award is announced and presented together with the award lecture at the annual meeting of the DGMS. The award is occasional with no more than one per year. However, in exceptional cases it might be equally shared between two individuals. Next awards ceremony will be held at the 55th Annual Conference of the DGMS in Freising, March 10-13, 2024.

Eligibility. Open to scientists who have carried out their scientific work in a European country. The application and the underlying scientific work should be written either in German or English. Applications are not linked to a formal scientific qualification. The award honours the scientific achievements of a young scientist, hence, as a rule, applicants should not have passed the age of forty in the year of application.

Please check for details on application and awarding of the Mattauch Herzog Award for Mass Spectrometry. You may want to have a look at the original German version of the awards description.

All requested documents must be submitted in duplicate or (preferably) as electronic files.

Submissions of applications for the awards presented in 2024 should be made to the chairperson of the jury by November 1, 2023:

Prof. Dr. Andrea Sinz
Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry & Bioanalytics
Center for Structural Mass Spectrometry
Institute of Pharmacy
Martin-Luther University Halle-Wittenberg
Kurt-Mothes-Str. 3, Entrance C
D-06120 Halle/Saale