Wolfgang Paul Study Awards

Wolfgang-Paul-Studienpreise 2020 of the German Mass Spectrometry Society (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Massenspektrometrie, DGMS)

fully supported by Bruker-Daltonik GmbH

Each year, the German Mass Spectrometry Society (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Massenspektrometrie, DGMS) presents the Wolfgang-Paul-Studienpreis for those Master’s and Ph.D. theses that have made an original and outstanding contribution to the field of mass spectrometry.

The award was established by DGMS in 1997 and the amount of 12.500 € is fully sponsored by Bruker-Daltonik GmbH, Leipzig. The amount may be shared between award winners and successful recipients will be awarded prizes of 2.500 € (M.Sc. thesis) and 5.000 € (Ph.D. thesis).

The award takes the name of one of Germany’s pioneers in ion physics, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Paul. He received the Nobel Prize in Physics 1989 for his development of a method for using electrical currents and electromagnetic fields to capture charged atoms – ions – in a trap”. He served as long-time president of the Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung. The award is presented at the annual conferences of DGMS by a scientific selection committee currently chaired by Dr. Michael Mormann, University of Münster.

Next awards ceremony will be held at the 53rd Annual Conference of the DGMS in Münster, March 1-4, 2020. Award recipients are asked to present their results as either a short oral presentation (Ph.D. awards) or as a poster (M.Sc. awards).

Applicants for the 2020 awards must have completed a Ph.D. or an M.Sc. at a German university or university of applied sciences. German citizens graduated from a foreign university may also apply. The thesis must have been examined and should have been officially conferred between November 1st 2018 and October 31st 2019.

We encourage the submission of superior and outstanding theses from all areas of research employing mass spectrometry as a pivotal technique. Submissions will be reviewed with special focus on the significance of the research contribution and potential impact on the field of mass spectrometry.

Submissions for the awards presented in 2020 should be made to the chairperson of the jury by November 1st 2019. Please follow the instructions provided here. Besides the requested documents submissions should comprise one hardcopy of your thesis. Furthermore, we kindly ask for an electronic (pdf) version of your thesis.

Dr. Michael Mormann
Universität Münster
Institut für Hygiene
Biomedizinische Massenspektrometrie
Robert-Koch-Str. 41
D-48149 Münster
E-Mail: mmormann@uni-muenster.de