Mattauch-Herzog Award Guidelines

Mattauch Herzog Award for Mass Spectrometry



Thermo Fisher Scientific is one of the oldest and among the world’s leading manufacturers of mass spectrometers, which are used in many important fields of science and technology. In the course of their more than fifty years of history, Thermo Fisher Scientific was involved in numerous decisive innovations in the field of mass spectrometry. Ever since, they continue this tradition by virtue of a potent group of scientists and technicians.

To further the progress of mass spectrometry, Thermo Fisher Scientific endows an award (“Mattauch-Herzog-Preis“) to honour outstanding achievements in the various fields of mass spectrometry within the following limits and conditions.

1. Name

The Mattauch-Herzog Award takes the name of two pioneers in mass spectrometry, Josef Mattauch and Richard Herzog who developed fundamental aspects of mass spectroscopic ion optics and, in 1934, presented a novel type of mass spectrometer equipped with ion optics which became known world-wide as the “Mattauch-Herzog-System”.

The award is bestowed under the patronage of the German Society for Mass Spectrometry (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Massenspektrometrie, DGMS).

2. Rules

The Mattauch Herzog Award recognizes outstanding scientific achievements in one of the two large fields of application of modern mass spectrometry, that is, organic/biochemical analytics, on the one hand, and element and isotope analytics, on the other. The award is dedicated every year by an independent scientific jury and presented officially on the occasion of the annual meeting of the DGMS. Awardee(s) are obliged to present a scientific talk on their work within the awarding ceremony.

3. Limitations to the field

In the context of these two wide areas of applications there is no limit to the subject of research, as long as it constitutes an important and pioneering novel application of mass spectrometry or an outstanding advance in methodology and instrumentation.

4. Amount of the award

The Mattauch Herzog Award is endowed with the sum of EURO 12.500. In exceptional cases, this sum can be split to honour two award winners at the same time.

5. Conditions for application

Every scientist who has carried out her/his scientific work in a European country may apply for the award. The application and the underlying scientific work should be written in German or English.

The application for the award is not linked to a formal scientific qualification.

The Mattauch Herzog Award is not meant to recognize the lifetime achievement of a scientist; rather, it should emphasize the scientific work of a younger researcher. Therefore, as a rule, the applicants should not have passed the age of forty in the year of application.

Employees of the company Thermo Fisher Scientific are excluded from application.

Each application requires a detailed recommendation of a scientist who is well recognized in the field. Applications including the letter of recommendation should be sent to the chairman of the jury. The application period finishes, if not announced otherwise, on the 1st of November preceding the year of awarding. Announcements concerning the award are made in the regular publications of the DGMS and in appropriate journals.

The application comprises a summary of the applicant’s scientific work to be assessed and the applicant’s statement giving his view concerning its scientific relevance. Complementation of important publications is welcome but not prerequisite. In addition, a short exposé should be included showing possible future research and/or applications arising from the scientific work carried out so far.

The material submitted must unequivocally document the independent scientific originality of the applicant. In case of papers co-authored with other scientists, an appropriate explanation or information is required. A short curriculum vitae should complete the application.

Not the length but the quality of the application will be decisive.

In exceptional cases, the applicant may be suggested by other scientists. The nomination must be supported by significant documentation on the nominee’s work (publications, recommendations, as outlined above).

6. Selection of award-winner(s)

The decision on awarding is made by an independent jury, which consists of five scientists recognized in the field of mass spectrometry. The members of the jury are appointed by the DGMS.

The jury elects a chairperson from its own members. The appointment of the jury should be made such that a highest possible scientific competence is achieved.

As a rule, each member of the jury should be in charge for 5 years and the chairperson should be in charge for 3 years. However, longer periods of office are not excluded.

The members of the jury are obliged to be neutral and discreet. An employee appointed by Thermo Fisher Scientific shall receive confidential information on the discussion and decision of the jury without being entitled to vote.

7. Final clause

These statutes replace the rules for the Mattauch Herzog Awards (“Mattauch-Herzog-Promotions-Preis“ and “Mattauch-Herzog-Förderpreis”) awarded since 1988.


Kiel 19. Oktober 2011                    Deutsche Gesellschaft für Massenspektrometrie